INTERVIEW

” SO CUT A LONG STORY SHORTER “ – Mark Ramples and we Sevenize. Here are some ingredients. First of all the base:

My dad was a drummer + dance music and soul + kids in the ‘burbs it was exciting stuff + Saturday buying records at City Sounds, Groove, Quaff, Music Power + just dancing, getting inspired + Turns out its Bill Shannon + pestering him to sell me stuff + The Cricketers. That place had some great dj’s, Jasper the vinyl junkie, Jazzy M – great stuff, inspiration + Bill was a true purist and I think he soon regretted having anything to do with us! + Early in ’88 we went to a party called Hedonism, that blew me away + running a party in Windsor + we fell into a great crowd + I feel so lucky to have been at the right place + Future, Spectrum, Shoom, parties like Destination Moon + yep, Oakenfold too. Hard to imagine but he was fantastic then… “La Habanera”! + But I can’t overstate how big an influence Rampling was + we just wanted to be Rampling! + He would have to be the single biggest influence on me as a dj.


And After all that Rampling,

Apart from the Black Lodge I do a night called NewYorkSocialClub in a small college town called Uppsala
+ Selection is important, otherwise you’re not dj’ing, you’re just playing records and everyone can instinctively hear the difference + Let’s face it I’m an old man: most of the time I fantasize about some mythical drinking club with wood panelling, a real fire and a perfect sound, great drinks and nice people… but mostly the closest thing to that is my front room ….

The whole cream at Voices Collective full interview there for ya, and the morning coffee news at Spank!

